Pinning updates to the top of the timeline

There might be a time that something important has happened, or is about to happen, that you want all your employees to be aware of. It might be a technical failure in one of your important operational systems, a warning about pick-pockets in your stores, or a video message of the CEO. 

For these cases, we offer the option to pin an update to the top of the network timeline. This way, every time a user opens the timeline, on their phone or computer, the first message that they see is the pinned message. 

Pinning an update

Assuming you have the permissions to do so, pinning an update is actually quite simple! Simply find the message you’re looking for and open the options for this message. You will see the Pin update option here.

pin-web.png

pin-ios.png

pin-android.png

Please note that 

  • You can only pin updates for now
  • You can only pin updates that are addressed to the entire network
  • You can only pin one update at a time

Automatically unpinning

In some cases, you want your message to be pinned until a specific moment. In that case, you can simply set a date and time on which your message will automatically be unpinned again. You can do so by simply selecting a date and a time from the date picker during the pinning of your update.

schedule-web.png     

schedule-ios.png

schedule-android.png

If you don’t set any date or time, your message will be pinned to the top of the timeline until someone pins another message, or manually unpins your message.

If you want to set a date and time after initially pinning your update, you can do so by changing the configuration of your pinned message.

Replacing a pinned update

If there is already a message pinned to your network timeline, you will be able to replace this message with a new one. If you chose to do so, a notification will be sent to the user who pinned the current message to the top of the timeline, to inform them about this action.

Permissions

We understand that you might not want all your employees to be able to pin a message to your network’s timeline, so we’ve created a permission for pinning updates, that allows you to control which users can pin updates and which can’t. 

To assign this permission to a role, you can take the following steps:

  1. Go to Network Settings;
  2. Go to the Roles section;
  3. Open the role you would like to assign this permission to;
  4. From the Timeline tab, check the "Pin updates to top of the network timeline" permission.

permissions-web.png

Network administrators will have this permission by default and by default, this permission is turned off for all other users and roles that are already created in your network.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful